Scarves finally done!

So, I’ve been slow about it, but I finished my patchwork scarves! I used the tutorial from Sew Mama Sew…except I made them grown-up-kid size (MY size! :) )

One of them’s for me, and one of them is going to be shipped somewhere…

I picked up 4 fat quarters from Joann’s of some batiks for this one. Just about the right amound, even when I cut some pieces wrong (yeah, PATCHWORK doesn’t always mean random for me hahaha…let alone patches of scraps…).

This one I used part of my leftovers from my Alexander Henry Gist of Gemini fabric, and I also picked up the brown w/ gold circles as a fat quarter from Joanns as well. Obviously, I’ve spent a lot of time there the last couple weeks haha! But I don’t have much to show for it. I used the log cabin pillow tutorial from Dacia Ray to do this one.

Both scarves use a brown soft material…I’ll call it fake linen. I went looking for some linen but, probably not a good combo for me because: 1) I’m cheap somestimes, 2) I was buying other stuff so my 40% coupon wasn’t going towards this, 3) the linen colors they had weren’t very appealing. It all worked out nicely though b/c this stuff is SOFTER and drapes like a dream. It was sitting right next to the linen. And it comes it a lot of colors!

Today is the Autumn Moon Festival (basically full moon in Autumn…part of Chinese tradition). No moon cake this year because when we went to Diamond Bakery this weekend, I was more focused on egg tarts (YUM!!) than on moon cake. Regardless, tonight I’m going to Peter’s Canyon to take some photos of the full moon. I hope it’s big! And pretty!

So….since my sister commented on these in my flickr, I’ll post them haha….gotta love home. These were both taken from the sidewalk in front of my house:

Dickson comes back from Fremont today! YIPEEE!!!

This entry was posted in Life, Photography, Projects, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scarves finally done!

  1. Lynn says:

    Yeah those photos are gorgeous. It took me a while to recognize your street.. I’m used to it being so shady all the time! And your scarves really do look great.

  2. Kristin says:

    Those scarves are amazing! Well done!

  3. Dacia says:

    those turned out lovely! good work. :)

  4. i love those scarves! i think i might make some for yule. how long did it take to make ‘em?

Leave a Reply

