New Purse for Me!

I’ve been wanting to make myself a new bag for awhile.  I had it in my head, and I finally found some time to sketch and sew it up this morning. I’m loving it! I can’t wait to use it!


This purse is supposed to replace my current purse, whose fake leather strap is sadly peeling. We’ll see if I still use that one…I’m quite attached to it. I decided to insert a recessed zipper instead of the usual magnetic snap. I found this tutorial and followed some of the steps to attach the zipper pieces to the lining pieces. The rest of the bag was assembled with the usual sew and flip method.

Considering it’s my first recessed zipper, I’d say it came out surprisingly well.  I forgot to put interfacing on the yoke so it’s a bit floppy, but it’s not too bad.

The gray fabric is Kaufmann’s Quilter’s Tweed that I found at F&S Fabric.  I was soooo excited to find this.  I was originally going to use a wool or some sort of herringbone print, but this was sooooo much better.  Much more exciting.  And now the bag is machine washable!  Woo! :)  I can’t find the name of the blue fabric :(  I got it at the Sewing Arts Center in Santa Monica (such a cute store!).  I’ll update if I do figure it out.

Other features include a slip pocket inside, a gusset bottom, some piping along the yoke, some fabric gathering.

I think I can actually fit all of my stuff along w/ Dickson’s stuff that he makes me carry when we go out.  :)  Now that’s an improvement.

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Purse for Me!

  1. Lynn says:

    Very cute! I love the zipper.

  2. mamati says:

    Love the bag not to big yet not too small just right seems quite spcacious :)

Leave a Reply

