Circles

Pie anyone?



Mmmm, made from scratch, too! (from this recipe…highly recommended)

So I’ve been pretty lazy lately, but I have managed to get a few things done. Like, Dickson and I ate an entire pumpkin pie in 4 days. Now we’re racking our brains trying to figure out what to do with the rest of the whipped cream.

I have done some sewing, too! Just not much has been finished…

We visited my cousins in early October for my grandma’s birthday bash, and during our downtime, I got to do some sewing. Super fun! I love how Lynn and I are so boring haha…even my sister asked if we were just going to sew after dinner because if we were, she didn’t want to come hang out with us because we’re boring apparently :-)

Originally, I was going through Lynn’s stash, and part way through we realized she had NO purple other than one purple fabric that she used to make ME something a couple years ago. So then we had to call her sister and we mananged to get a beautiful color wheel cut out. Since then, I have put the whole thing together, backing included. I’ve sandwiched and pinned, and now it’s just waiting to be quilted. I even figured out the quilting design, but I’ve just been lazy. I love circles though. I think I’m going through a circle phase.

I also managed to whip up a pin cushion caddy for me. I used my cousin’s when I was at her place binding one of her quilts. It’s super handy! I had downloaded the pattern a long time ago when Craft provided it for free (it’s no longer available though), and I just never got around to sewing it up.

Notice all the beautiful purple? I love purple. It did turn out a bit wonky though. Dickson said that while I was sleeping, he was playing with it and tried to squish it into a circle. I used fusible Peltex (I guess that’s what it’s called), but it’s kind of collapsing on itself and making a triangle…

So I figured stuffing it more would help compensate. Well, I guess it did a little, but I found it difficult to stuff the side opposite of the open seam. Also, I had to increase the seam allowance to 1/2″. 5/8″ would probably have been better…you can see the kinks in the fabrics here and there. But, I love the colors and I used scraps! I can’t wait to use it when I finally get around to binding another quilt.

So the final circle activity, that wasn’t nearly as exciting as I thought it was…

Dickson got free tickets to the Pepsi 500. Basically it’s a NASCAR race, and the cars go round nad round in circles for 500 miles. 250 laps. Really loud. Lots of beer. Wow. Not my thing I guess…we left after about 100 or so laps.

This entry was posted in Food, Life, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Circles

  1. Lynn says:

    wow, that is circle themed! I can’t wait to see your finished quilt. AND, I think your pincushion caddy turned out better than mine. So wonky! You’re so smart to download the pattern, I’ve had a few people leave comments on my blog asking for the pattern. What are we doing during thanksgiving?

  2. idreamofquilts says:

    Yeah! I love circles too! Cool post! I can’t wait to see your color wheel.

Leave a Reply

