Patchwork Little Folks Voile Quilt

Finally finished a quilt. It’s been a long time.



This quilt is made from seven fat quarters of Anna Maria Horner’s Little Folks Voile, along with two coordinating voile solids. Like everyone else who has used this fabric, I LOVE this fabric. It’s so light, airy, and soft. There were now issues with piecing, and I’d say the lightness of the fabric helped make most of my corners meet up properly! It was amazing! It was a little more difficult to iron the seams open, so I ended up pressing them to one side. The only thing that was a bit frustrating with this fabric was its tendency to fray a bit more than cotton if you have to rip out a seam. That happened a few times. It’s not too bad, but definitely more than cotton.

This is my first patchwork square quilt. I wanted the block placement to look random, so I couldn’t systematically strip piece the fabrics. But, at the same time, I didn’t want to piece one square at a time…even with chain piecing that would take forever! Instead, I strip pieced the fabrics in random groups of two and three. I laid the two-square, three-square, along with some single squares out until I got a layout I liked. So it was a mix of strip piecing and randomizing.



This was also my first time machine binding! I used the tutorial from Red Pepper Quilts. I took her advice and used 2.5″ binding for the first time, and it worked out well, although not as spick and span as I had hoped. Next time I’ll drop down to 2.25″ binding or use sew the binding on using a 3/8″ instead of a 1/4″. I also found it better for me to use thread on top that also matched the binding, since I had the tendency to occasionally stitch out of the ditch and onto the binding. I really like the concept of binding one side at a time–less pins to poke me. I found I could pin opposite sides before sewing and still avoid the pin poking. The binding is Kona Cotton Berry. Looooove this color.

The back is pieced with the last bits of voile, along with some Kona cotton in Sunshine and Snow (I think). I decided to go with some straight line quilting because I wanted to preserve the softness of the fabric. I’m definitely not a stitch-in-ditch type of person since I can’t do it very accurately, so I stitched 1/4″ away from the seam and also down the middle of each block. Originally, I wanted to stitch in both directions, but I think my pieced back was not completely perpendicular (tips on how to do that anyone??), so I had to rip the quilting out. Fortunately it was before I did any major quilting.

This quilt has been given to its recipient. Hopefully it’ll get years and years of love. Did I mention how I love that voile is machine washable?

This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patchwork Little Folks Voile Quilt

  1. Lynn says:

    So cute. If you figure out how to make the back straight let me know!

Leave a Reply

