Chloe’s Quilt

This is Chloe’s Quilt. Chloe is my cousin’s newborn daughter, and the first of the next generation of kids.



The front of the quilt is made entirely of Anna Maria Horner’s Little Folks Voile (with one of her Dobby Dots thrown in, too). I absolutely love using voile. It’s a bit slippery, but it’s super smooth and quilts up beautifully!

My favorite feature of this quilt is the backing. This is my first backing where I stopped and really thought about how to back it. My past quilts usually used scraps left over from the front along with a coordinating solid. Or, I would just use one solid/print on the back. But this quilt was different. I originally intended on backing with a solid. Then the solid became a print. Then a trip to the local fabric store became multiple prints and colors. The resulting combination consists of Kona (cactus, mango, and blush pink), Paula Prass’ Chevron print for Michael Miller, and Alexander Henry’s Fashionista Mod Dot.




I also spent a lot of time thinking about the binding. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to square off the edges, or to keep the zigzag edgefrom the tumblers. I finally decided to bite the bullet and read up on how to miter inside corners. Several tutorials and visualizations later, I put the binding on, only to realize that the zigzag was so subtle that I could get away with a wave/scallop. So that I did. Not only did I do that, but I brought out my brand new glass-head pins, and pressed and pinned the binding on the quilt so many times. This quilt has THE best machined binding I have ever done! Only a few spots had to be redone. I was quite impressed. Pin pin pin!

Amazingly, the seams lined up very nicely on this quilt. I was quite pleased with the outcome. I opted to press seams to the side for this quilt, and the effort did pay off. However, this wasn’t without difficulty. Getting the tumbler blocks to correctly line up (you need to offset them) took me a LONG time to get right. And even once I figured out a method, I still was off occassionally. I’m still a press-seams-open girl, but blocks like this call for pressing to the side.

More photos on my Flickr. This is also my entry to the 2010 Fall Blogger’s Quilt Festival.

This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chloe’s Quilt

  1. Alison says:

    Love the colours you have chosen for this quilt

  2. quiltbenaco says:

    Molto, molto bello!
    Ciao Domenica

  3. WendyLou says:

    So lovely and luxurious! Great quilt!!

  4. Kari says:

    Terrific quilt! The back is great too. I’ll have to try pinning my binding more when I do it all on the machine. Maybe it will turn out better for me too.

  5. Lynn says:

    So so so so cute!! They will love it! You’ll have to explain the binding thing for me when you come for thanksgiving!

  6. diane says:

    Beautiful! Great fabric choice and the back is fabulous.

  7. gnee says:

    Very pretty, loving your pattern, colors and holder! Really cute.

  8. Karen says:

    Lovely quilt. Love the colours and the design.
    Such a lovely gift!

Leave a Reply

