Fat Quarterly Issue 6

Chloe's Tumbler
I’m so excited to finally get to share this project! Tacha of Fat Quarterly contacted me months ago to contribute to Fat Quarterly’s newest issue. The issue focuses on alternative fabrics, and I was invited to submit a quilt made from voile. I hope you enjoy Chloe’s Tumbler. I had tons of fun making this quilt, and I hope you will too!

I love using voile for quilts, and this one currently lives in my TV room. It’s so soft and cuddly. This is a perfect size for a baby quilt or as a personal lap quilt. The quilt uses 10 voile fat quarters, which are bigger than quilting cotton fat quarters. Each fat quarter measures 18×27″.

Chloe's Tumbler

The back of the quilt is made with a large panel of Parisville, some shot cotton, and some Kona.

Tumbler quilts result in a zig zagged edge, and I really hope you give the scalloped binding a shot. It’s super easy and the results really add to the quilt…and there’s less cutting involved. Just trying to keep it simple…

If you have any questions, feel free to post them here! You can see the original quilt for Chloe in this post. Chloe’s quilt was made from Little Folks voile.

You can buy this issue of Fat Quarterly here.

Blank templates and layouts referenced in Chloe’s Tumbler instructions can be downloaded here.

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fat Quarterly Issue 6

  1. Your quilt is absolutely totally and utterly mouth wateringly beautiful – I love how you kept it simple and let the fabrics talk – wonderful

  2. Heather says:

    Beautiful! It looks so perfect to cuddle up with. Very nice job!

  3. Lynn says:

    YAY! It’s so pretty! So happy for you!

    • aquietpatch says:

      Love that photo of Lucy. I am a big fan of hers. I had been following your blog way before I even met Kristine. Imagine my surprise when I realized she is Lucy’s auntie!

  4. aquietpatch says:

    It’s beautiful, Kristine! Great job. Your fabric selection was perfect.

Leave a Reply

