Food!

So this weekend, Dickson and I were cat-sitting while my parents took Kel to Berkeley.

I was in a cooking/baking/kitchen mood all weekend, so on Thursday night, while I was waiting for Dickson to arrive, I pulled out a cookbook and made some Orange Creme Caramel thing. Creme Caramel = Fancy Flan. It had vanilla and orange zest added to it, and I was supposed to make these caramel soaked oranges to eat with it. Those turned out okay. I might skip them next time. But here’s the final product:

Looks pretty, huh? Took Dickson and me awhile to figure out the “best” way to remove the custard thing from the ramekin, but I think we figured it out eventually.

But here’s what it was SUPPOSED to look like:

….Somehow, it looks fancier in this photo. Maybe I should have put mine on a white plate haha. Oh well, it still tasted good 🙂

I think I messed up with the caramel or something because a lot of it became solid, kinda like cracked glass. But I think I figured out the problem…I was having trouble interpreting the instructions. So next time I have to use boiling water in the oven, not tap. But the caramel was sweet. I never really realized it was just sugar and water.

So the SUPER EXCITING PART of this weekend was Dickson’s steamed catfish! YUM!!!! I haven’t had it in SO SO SO SO SO long! So we went to the garage and dug out my big ol’ Italian-made-bought-from-Costco wok, and steamed a 3.25 pound catfish!

Deeeelicious! Doesn’t that picture make you want to grab a piece and stuff it in your mouth? YUM! Anyway, this catfish was super fatty…but that’s what made it even better 🙂 Mmm mmm good!

Oh, right. We made one more thing this weekend. Chocolate chip cookies! Except I forgot to take a picture of it before we took it to Greg’s party. The box was so awesome! Dickson thought of using one of my Amazon.com boxes, so we lined it with foil and I put 3 dozen cookies in there. It was great!

Oh SPEAKING of my Amazon-cookie box. When I handed the box over to Greg at the party, he asked if it was a frog inside. Being the silly nerd girl I am, I immediate thought of this joke I read online once….

An engineer was crossing a road one day when a frog called out to him and said, “If you kiss me, I’ll turn into a beautiful princess.”

He bent over, picked up the frog and put it in his pocket.

The frog spoke up again and said, “If you kiss me and turn me back into a beautiful princess, I will stay with you for one week.” The engineer took the frog out of his pocket, smiled at it and returned it to the pocket.

The frog then cried out, “If you kiss me and turn me back into a princess, I’ll stay with you and do ANYTHING you want.” Again the engineer took the frog out, smiled at it and put it back into his pocket.

Finally, the frog asked, “What is the matter? I’ve told you I’m a beautiful princess, that I’ll stay with you for a week and do anything you want. Why won’t you kiss me?” The engineer said, “Look I’m an engineer. I don’t have time for a girlfriend, but a talking frog, now that’s cool.”

Engineer Jokes

Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Awesomeness.

So that was our weekend. Super packed, to say the least. Except now I’m behind on homework. BUT only two more weeks of school!

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food!

  1. Greg says:

    Hah hah, awesome frog joke.

    And thanks again for the cookies, they really were awesome! (Maybe even better than if you had brought me a frog.)

Leave a Reply

