Miranda’s Birthday Bag

I’m totally ahead of gift schedule this year! I completed Miranda’s birthday present today…well, more like I completed the WRAPPING for Miranda’s birthday present. Don’t worry, there’s a gift inside. But shhhh!!! I’m not telling you what it is!πŸ™‚

The first time I ever sat in front of a sewing machine, was when my aunt taught me how to sew a drawstring bag. So, I figured it would be an easy way to giftwrap a present.

First, I did a regular rectangular bag:

But after stuffing it with the gift and tissue paper, I decided to sew a bit more and make it fish-bowl shaped:

Mom taught me how to make what I call a “fake” button hole, so I didn’t have to deal with two open edges for the drawstring. It turned out pretty neat!

And here’s one more pic of the top of the bag.πŸ™‚

Yay! I hope she likes itπŸ™‚

Oh, I forgot to add…I found this awesome fabric in the remnants section at Joann’s. I also picked the ribbon up there…I really liked the ribbon, but they had less than a yard left (probably because it was 10 cents a yard)…so I bought the rest, for a whopping 8 cents! Yay for great deals!

This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miranda’s Birthday Bag

  1. Lynn says:

    AUGH! I can’t believe you won the free fabric fridays from Sew Mama Sew! I’m so jealous!! Lucky duck!

  2. amatricis says:

    HAHA yay me!πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: New Birthday Bag « Mudmuffins and Woogiemonsters

Leave a Reply

