Sewing Machine….

…check.

As my birthday neared, I decided I wanted to start researching for a new sewing machine. For anyone who knows me, I HATE researching. I mean, I get all excited at first, and then it gets tedious. This happened to me w/ my digital camera, too. You get torn back and forth and back and forth until you either lose interest or you just close your eyes and go eenie meenie miney moe.

ANYWAY, so it started with a $500 budget and a trip to Joann’s. They have an independent Janome and Viking dealer inside, so in we go! Later that week, it was off to ANOTHER dealer, where they had more selection. But, I’ve always forced myself to “sleep on it” because, well…sleeping on a decision yields good decisions. For example, Penny.

Anyway, “sleeping on it” brought me really really good results this time. The two machines I was torn between were both $500. Came chock full with free classes and what not, but who doesn’t want to find a good deal? Called around some San Diego dealers, and found out those machines were only $370 from them! I love competition.

I never got the chance to go down to San Diego to look at the machines. The days I was actually down there, they were either closed or Dickson and I didn’t have time, or we left earlier than expected. But, this turned out to be a good thing, too.

I ended up at the kinda-local quilt shop in Lake Forest (Material Possessions), and while they had a smaller selection (only Janome machines), there was one that caught my eye. It was seriously on sale, like it was the last sale of the world! Long story short, I tried the machine, and after a week or two or so…IT’S MINE!

Actually, more like, Mom bought it for me as another birthday present šŸ™‚ YAY!!!! So now I can spent my saved money on things like notions and fabric and patterns to add to my growing list of projects. So, here is my new Janome MemoryCraft 4900QC (oooh, long fancy name!). We’re gonna have lots of fun together hopefully for years to come.

This entry was posted in Life, Projects, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sewing Machine….

  1. Lynn says:

    Oh she’s so pretty!! Does she have a name yet?

  2. amatricis says:

    Still working on the name…hasn’t come to me yet. So pretty though! YAY ME!

  3. Pingback: New Checkbook « Mudmuffins and Woogiemonsters

  4. Pingback: Dumb and OOOHHH! « Water Ouzel

  5. Pingback: Spring has Sprung! « Mudmuffins and Woogiemonsters

  6. Shelley says:

    Do you still enjoy your sewing machine? I’m doing research right now on Janome QC models and this is one in the running. Any comments, recommendations, or suggestions?
    thanks!

  7. Kristine Tsai says:

    Shelley, the machine is great. I didn’t do much research on other comparable machines since I was originally looking at machines w/ significantly less features (and cost less), so I won’t be able to give you much comparison.

    One thing I did have to get used to was getting into the habit of always cleaning out the bobbin area (you know, fuzz and such). My mom’s old Singer (from the 80s) that I was using before I got the Janome seemed to work fine whether or not the bobbin area was clean. The Janome seems to be much more sensitive to that. As long as the bobbin area is lint-free, she sews like a dream.

    I’ve picked up free-motion quilting since I got this machine as well, and I haven’t had any problem with that. The electronic screen is easy to use. The manual is really brief, so I only use it when I’m trying out a new feature. I’ve only quilted as large as a baby quilt, so I’m not sure how well she does when quilting something say, twin or queen/full size. I have mended a queen-size down comforter with it though (it needed a grid sewn in so the down didn’t shift all the time), and that wasn’t too difficult.

    Let me know if you have any specific questions and I’ll try to answer them to the best of my ability šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

