Velma Bag

So I finished my first bag and “serious” project of the new year. This is Amy Butler’s Velma bag. My sister got me the pattern for my birthday.

The exterior is fabric I got from the Loft 1800 collection. I bought it awhile ago but I didn’t know what to make with it…I only knew I loved the print (and the color). So it finally made it into a project. I was going for this classy romantic feel…I hope that’s what it conveys.

The shoulder strap was originally supposed to be a 1/2″ cord wrapped in the same exterior fabric (per Amy B’s instructions). But, I decided not to go that route (never mind that I couldn’t find 1/2″ cord) and Dickson helped me pick out some coordinating cords to sew together. I wanted to braid them, but it became oddly bulky, probably because I had two thicker strands and one thinner strand. If you can’t see in the photo, there’s a black, dark green, and goldenrod strand. I thought it worked well.

What I love love love about this bag is how it’s so elegant and classy on the outside, but totally cutesy on the inside. It’s like a surprise everytime you open the bag. And it makes sure you don’t forget your morning/afternoon/evening coffee.

Dickson helped me pick out this cute espresso-themed fabric that matched the purple really well. It’s a heavier weight fabric with a coarser weave, but it was a great match.

Here you can see the pocket inside. The bag is big enough to hold me keys, wallet, phone (perfect fit in the pocket!), and chapstick. I probably can’t much else, so it won’t be a daily purse. But I do love it…even though I put the snap on slightly off center. Oh well. It adds to the charm, right?

This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Velma Bag

  1. Lynn says:

    Cute!! I can’t remember though, do you like coffee? I love love love the outside fabric!

Leave a Reply

