Spring has Sprung!

Ah, being a student does have its perks: all those “breaks”. You know what I’m talking about. 3-4 week winter break, 1 week spring break, SUMMER. I’m going to miss all this when I start working.

SF City Hall

Dickson and I are going to go hang out in the SF Bay Area this break! Yay! Our anniversary is on Monday and hopefully we’ll get to go to Half Moon Bay. We also plan to go to Oakland for dim sum and for the BEST dan-tas (egg custard tarts) ever!I think we might even go twice! I hope we get to meet Lucy, too. Okay, okay, and see my cousin and her new unpainted living space (and maybe some fabric shopping! Dickson, pretend you didn’t ready that!!).

Spring is almost here!! YAY! I’m so happy!

Obviously, sewing will be put on hold for a week or so. However, I do have a list of things that I want to make. The list keeps growing. Argh!

1) Charming bag
2) Bag for Mom (having trouble dreaming up the perfect design. It most likely involves more bicycle tube recycling)
3) Day in the Park Backpack/Tote (I still gotta buy this pattern, but I do have the perfect fabric!)
4) Graduation Dress (still needs fabric)
5) Comforter cover and matching pillow cases (still need contrasting fabric)

Priority probably goes to the dress and the bag for my Mom. Graduation is only 65 days away! Fortunately, I vaguely recall April is “Women’s Clothes Month” at Sew Mama Sew, so that’ll be a good way to get myself off my butt. I still have a skirt I want to make, too. Mom’s bag is a bag I owe her because she bought me my new sewing machine. I might lump it into the backpack/tote. I think she’d like it. The goal is to finish it before I move out. Although, I really should hold off on making MORE bags. My dad keeps saying I should start selling them but I don’t think I’m good enough to sell stuff yet.

In other big news today, they announced the winners to the Amy Butler Sew Inspiring Contest. Unfortunately, my bag didn’t make the cut, but the winning bags are pretty and very Amy Butler-ish. Thanks for all the love though! I learned a lot from this bag. Don’t worry, this isn’t the last you’ve seen of bike tubes! I need to scrounge up some more soon. Maybe I’ll do a tutorial on how to make the side/strap on my bag. It really depends on how lazy I am and how many rejected tubes I can get my hands on.

This entry was posted in Life, Projects, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring has Sprung!

  1. Barb says:

    I would love a tutorial. I’ll post it on my purse blog.

  2. Lynn says:

    Yay, come visit! Lucy’s looking at me like I’m boring though… I really think your bag was one of the most creative on there. Good job cousin! I think you picked out a good graduation dress pattern.. I’m seen some the turned out really really well, and it think it will fit you well too.

  3. Kel says:

    You didn’t include your visit to me in your Bay Area adventures. GEEZ.

Leave a Reply

