Brick and Mortar Fabric Store Listing!

Miss me everyone?  I’m back from Hawaii!  Official vacation photos to come, but for now I’m going to share my lightbulb idea I got during my trip.

On my last few days in Oahu, I went to Fabric Mart.  It’s a HUGE fabric store in Honolulu that sells Hawaiian fabric at wholesale prices.  Most of the stuff is about $5/yard.  Lets just say I walked in, nearly died in fabric heaven, and walked out with 24 yards of fabric (yes Cousin, I got you some too).

Here’s some photos so you can live through me…

Anyway, so I realized how sad it was that I would rather go fabric shopping than go to the beach AGAIN.  Mostly because I had gone to the beach so many times in 10 days that I was too tan.  AND, I had a ton of bug bites on my beautiful legs, so I didn’t really want to show them off…

I decided that I want to put together a list of everyone’s favorite fabric stores.  Not online ones, but ones that we go to in person.  Local brick and mortar stores.  I’ll compile the list here on my blog, so please please please if you have a great fabric store (or multiple ones!) in your area that you love to go to email me at amatricisATyahooDOTcom with the following information:

1) Store name, address, and website (if it has one)
2) Types of fabric the store sells (e.g. if it’s your one stop shop to get Alexander Henry, or batiks, etc)
3) Why you love it
4) Your name/blog/flickr link

Hopefully we can all use this list for when we go on summer vacations!  Please pass this along through your blogs/message boards.  The more the merrier!

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brick and Mortar Fabric Store Listing!

  1. Lynn says:

    Hurray! Fabric for mee!! I’ll send you an email…

  2. Pingback: Healthy Machine = Time for a Giveaway! « Mudmuffins and Woogiemonsters

  3. kellyjo32 says:

    My favorite fabric store is Material Girls in LaPlata, MD. It’s gorgeous!! The layout of the store is absolutely perfect and around every corner and in every nook and cranny, there’s more fabric! The ladies are so helpful and they have all of their machines out and you can try them all! I’ll send you an email with more details!

  4. michelle rosborough says:

    Walmart- all kinds of fabric CHEAP !!!!

  5. Christine says:

    I have never seen a fabric store as wonderful as Fabric Mart! It’s like that amusement park you need two days in order to ride all the rides!

    My favorite fabric “store” isn’t really a store, it’s my mom’s house! She bought a bunch of fabric when her local shop was going out of business, so I always hit her up for fabric when I visit her.

    So, my favorite real store is our local Hancock Fabrics because they send me coupons all the time and it’s the closest to my house. Though the $7.99 Fabric store for home fabrics comes in a close second…

  6. Valerie says:

    Oh I probably would have fainted when I walked in! (My husband would have just died right there from a heart attack-wallet in hand! lol) I know this is an old post but I just found your site from sew mama sew! My favorite store is the foam and fabric outlet in the next town. Our Walmart sells fabric but is going to stop after the first of the year.

  7. Pingback: Amy Butler Swing Bag for Mom « Mudmuffins and Woogiemonsters

Leave a Reply

