Healthy Machine = Time for a Giveaway!

I got my Janome back yesterday and whipped up a quick checkbook cover to make sure all was running smoothly.  And sure enough, all she needed was some resetting here a tuneup there and she was good as new! 

So up for grabs is her resulting hard work:
Checkbook Cover

The exterior is bits of what’s left of my Loft 1800 fabric and the interior is from JoAnn’s.  I used this color combo to make my Velma bag awhile ago. 

I meant to do this giveaway around my bloggiversary.  But I got sidetracked by finals.  So then I realized I was nearing 100 posts.  But then, my machine broke.  So here we are now.  Better late than never, right?🙂

So for your chance to win, do one of the following:

1) Leave a comment here telling me about your favorite books/tutorials for home decorating items (pillows, curtains, throws, bedsheets, etc)

or

2) Leave a comment on this post telling me about your favorite local fabric shop (see post for details)

If you do both, you’ll get a double entry :) 

You have until Monday June 30 to enter.  I’ll randomly draw a winner shortly after.  Happy commenting!

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Healthy Machine = Time for a Giveaway!

  1. Andrea says:

    Well, I am currently in love with Midwest Modern, Amy Butler’s new book. I love how all the pictures just inspire me to be more creative in my own home.

  2. Kam A says:

    I love the Trash to Treasures books! Thank you for the giveaway!

  3. Lynn says:

    Haha, for home stuff? I love looking through Simple Soft Furnishings by Katrin Cargill, but i haven’t made anything from it yet. Let me know if you want to borrow it! Oh, and you probably should leave me out of the drawing. Don’t contest usually ban family members from winning? :p

  4. Michele P. says:

    my favorite local place is the Yardgoods Center, its been around for years, everyone is friendly, and they even hold classes for different crafts and stuff. But I have to admit, I can’t sew, so buy the fabrics for hubbys sister in Guatemala. I have tried some SIMPLE craft classes though.

  5. Kat Bryan says:

    The best fabric shop here is Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting. They also publish quilting books and a magazine but I don’t happen to have any at the moment to get the titles.

  6. michelle rosborough says:

    Mary Engelbreit’s Christmas Companion book

  7. nicole says:

    Hi Kristine. Not sure if this qualifies me for an entry (that’s okay!) but I’ve been meaning to thank you for your checkbook cover tutorial! I just posted some pictures of it on my new craft blog: http://nicoleviola.blogspot.com
    I’ve subscribed to your blog ever since I found you by way of Sew Mama Sew and I enjoy reading it!🙂

  8. Kel says:

    This isn’t fair, I don’t sew or go to fabric stores. But I want a checkbook cover! Is that so bad?!

  9. Judy says:

    Wonderful to hear your machine is well again. My serger was sick for 6 weeks!

    My favorite place to buy fabric is a way cool little shop in Hattiesburg MS called Sew Select. It’s run by a vibrant, sweet young woman with lots of fabric and fashion sense. She carries popular designer fabric that cannot be found in any other shop in our little city! What a bonus! Amanda recently went to a Hus/Viking convention and was selected to ask a question of Martha Stewart. She came back with even more wonderful ideas of how to make the best shop in town even better.

    Several classes and activities are scheduled though the month so her customers have a place to share their passion with people with common interests.

    I call Sew Select my “feel good shop”, because when I walk in it’s bright, airy and organized. She carries great designer patterns and perfect project and garment fabric, and I am always greeted by name and made to feel really special when I visit.

  10. Judy says:

    My favorite home decorating book is “In Stitches” by Amy Butler. It’s includes patterns and great instructions. It’s chocked full of things to make…pillows, throws, cat tunnels, lounging pants, organizers…and even check book clutches. It’s well worth the asking price, because there are so many practical things to make included.

  11. plainjanesews says:

    I love the new Weekend Sewing by heather ross. My favorite local fabric shot is Quilts Plus. Love to go in there and fondle the fabric!

Leave a Reply

