Crochet-Along Progress

I finally have some progress for my crochet-along.  I dragged Dickson to Michaels last weekend and we picked out some super duper Lion Brand Wool-Ease yarn.  It’s a thicker yarn, which caused me some trouble at first since the biggest crochet hook I owned was the K hook.  This resulted in a block that felt like it could be used as a rug, not a blanket!  So yesterday after work I picked up a P hook and started swatching.  It’s perfect!

Since the yarn is so thick compared to the recommended yarn, I had to reduce my stitch count, otherwise I’d probably end up with a huuuuuuge block.  I think the resulting block is roughly a 7.5″ square.

I also created a 4th block by just doing my single crochet in the entire stitch instead of just the back loop stitch.

The stitch count is the same for both squares (yay!), but the texture is very different (one’s puffy, one’s not so puffy).  Me like.  Dickson and I decided we’re going to make a green and brown checkerboard with this project.  So 4 block types means 16 of each block, meaning 8 of each block in each color.  I’ve done 8 blocks already.  YAY!  Each block will also be surrounded by some vanilla colored single crochet, hopefully.  Not quite sure how to do that yet, so it’s still TBD.

Since there are so few stitches to make the block, each block goes pretty quickly.  This is good since my attention span–not so good.  I’ve also decided that double crochet is my favorite stitch so far.

56 blocks to go…so I’m 12.5% done.  I need to go buy more yarn.  Each ball makes 4 (maybe 5–I’ll know later once I start using the last bits of the ones I have).  This is going to look so cool!

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crochet-Along Progress

  1. Trish says:

    Looks great, and I am right with you, I only have like 78% more to go too!:)
    Have been fooling around tonight and not doing much

  2. Judy says:

    Looks great!!!

    I plan on joining in on this, too…however late.

    I’ve got no wool yarn so a trip to Hobby Lobby will have to be made before I do.

  3. Christine says:

    Looks nice! I’ve picked up crocheting again after I saw this wonderful pattern for a baby blanket that will be perfect for my sister. Are you on Ravelry by any chance?

  4. Judy says:

    I went to Michael’s a little while ago and picked up three colors…two balls each of wool. That should be a good start. Once again, you are an inspiration.

  5. Kristine Tsai says:

    Trish–Doesn’t it feels like 12% goes by quickly, but then it still feels like there’s SO MUCH to do. Slowly but surely I suppose🙂

    Christine–I just signed up for my Ravelry invite the other day…I’ll let you know when I get in🙂

    Judy–I’m excited to see your progress! Do post pictures! You should’ve seen me at Michaels yesterday…I left with 8 balls of yarn! They were on sale for $4/ball (vs. $6.50/ball), so it took a LOT of restraint to keep myself from buying enough balls for my whole blanket…

  6. Lynn says:

    Oh yay, when you get on ravelry, you can look for me! fun!

  7. Judy says:

    Hey Kristine,

    Last night I completed my seventh block. Mine looks a good bit different from yours. The weave is looser. I used an N-9 hook and the same stitch count as the pattern. I’m using Patons Classic Wool Merino (www.patonsyarns.com) in three shades. My blocks are almost 9″ x 9″…I didn’t even worry about gauge…but I knew for certain I did not want to use the larger hook called for in the pattern. I’m loving the luxurious feel of the wool and the ease of working with it. I just took a few pictures and will post them on my blog.

    I know what you mean about resisting buying all you needed to finish the project. I’m already plotting my next trip to Michaels. I figure it will take me three more balls of each color and at least a couple to tie it all together. I’m thinking of using another color border to border around each block and the outside edge. Even though this is a crochet-along, I feel the need to deviate from the pattern.

Leave a Reply

