Baby Blankie!

So, I have completed my first quilt.  It was pretty exhausting (but fun) quilting something this big, and it’s only a baby blankie!

The front fabric is from JoAnn’s…super super super cute fabrics.  They’re actually a bit stretchy, but that gives them a nice soft feel.  Definitely suitable for a baby.  I had to rely on the batting to get the rectangular shape.  I kind of went crazy (I can’t help it when it comes to baby stuff) and bought a few different prints and in the end Dickson felt this one gave the warmest feel.  I particularly like this part:

It’s a bull dog with a “Welcome” sign! :-)  As you can see my quilting is improving, I think.  The lines are a little more consistent and the tension seems okay.  I did find that doing the meadering on something this big (versus something the size of a pillow or scarf) takes some more thinking and careful moving around to be sure it looks like it’s wandering around randomly and that you don’t run into your previous lines.  I seemed to have trouble w/ the random wandering.  Sometimes you’d see that i’m just obviously going up and down.  I did like how this fabric crinkled up nicely with the batting shrinkage after I finished though.  But I think the center yellow strip wrinkled up a bit more than I was hoping for.  Oh well.  It looks cozy right?

The backing is some baby blue chenille (it’s a boy!).  I actually wanted to use minky, but unfortnately, it’s polyester and I wanted to stick to 100% cotton.  I found chenille pretty difficult to work with, too.  Especially when the needle wants to sew through that part where the chenille fuzz is attached to the main fabric.  Ugh.  It was frustrating.  The last time I had to deal with this type of difficulty resulted in me needing to get my Janome tuned up.  I hope that isn’t the case this time.  I’ll know in a couple days when I start my next project.

I’m so excited to send this out!  I’m kind of scared, too since the baby’s grandma is a seasoned quilter and I’m obviously not…at least I know if a seam comes out or something breaks there’s someone experienced enough to fix it!

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby Blankie!

  1. Lynn says:

    CUTE! You did a great job. Looks so fuzzy and warm!

  2. Robin says:

    I can’t believe this is your first quilt! Working with chenille is kind of challenging. You did a great job.🙂

  3. alexandria says:

    This quilt is adorable! Malakai loves it! Thanks so much again for making it. The first quilt I made was for him too! Love your blog!🙂

Leave a Reply

