Zig Zag Quilt

It’s been a busy holiday season. Have you all survived?🙂

I’ve been frantically finishing up this quilt all last week. I had the top pieced awhile ago, but I was pretty sluggish about sandwiching and quilting it.

I was looking for a quilt that was quick to piece but would still look really cool. The ladies of the LAMQG directed me to this WONDERFUL zig zag quilt tutorial that doesn’t use triangles! I omitted two zig zags (one row) from the pattern, bringing the quilt to about 40″ (ish) square.

The front is made entirely from my stash. I LOOOOVE this purple. I was saving it for a shirt (that never got made), so when I went to pick out fabrics for this quilt, it seemed to work out well. It’s a sateen. I love using sateen…the pretty sheen it has really adds to the rich purple. It frays a bit more than Kona cotton, which did cause some minor troubles, but I fixed them.



The back is a single print, and I almost ran out of fabric for it! Ugh! The fabric is Picadelly by Pamela Mostek. The dark purple matched PERFECTLY.

I stitched in ditch (easier than the last time I tried, surprisingly), and then echo quilted on the purple 1/2 inch away from each ditch. I thought about doing more lines in the purple, but by the time I finished the quilting, it was 11 PM and I was tired and had rest for Disneyland the next day! But, the quilt is nice and soft, and the binding came together pretty easily.

More to come soon!

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zig Zag Quilt

  1. Robyn says:

    Awesome! Zig zag quilts intimidate me. I’m impressed! Also? I adore the purple, too.

    • Kristine Tsai says:

      Zig zag quilts used to intimidate me, too! But I love this non-triangle construction. I know triangles are easy to make, but I think squares are easier to cut and less prone to error. Definitely a good way to get to know the zig zag quilt. I want to incorporate it into a bag now!

Leave a Reply

