Hope Valley Mixer Cover

You know how people with fabric addition issues (like me) always figure out reasons to buy more? Well, that’s how it was with me and Denise Schmidt’s Hope Valley. It was available some time before Christmas, and I knew I had to have it.

So I ordered some fat quarters. More like one of every print and colorway of the line.



Beautiful, isn’t it? When it arrived, it sat on my table, mocking me. Daring me to cut into it. So I finally figured out the solution: if I make as many projects possible with it, I can use them all and then order MORE of my favorites!

Now, the project making has been kind of slow (but the ideas are plenty), but I finally finished my first one. And of course, I used every print.



My cousin requested a cover for her KitchenAid Stand Mixer. She finally received it, so now I can share it with the blogosphere!

The strips are wonky strips, supposedly (they didn’t turn out too wonky IMO). I used Elizabeth’s tutorial and used freezer paper. The front and back gray panels are just plain gray and I quilted it with random straight lines in various colors. I picked gray because it matched everything AND it kind of hides kitchen messes. Sort of.

I used a bamboo batting for this one because that’s what I had on hand at the time, and it shrunk a lot more than I’m used to. I love the crinkly goodness of the panels, but I’m a bit undecided on the binding, but if this were a quilt, I know I’d be in love. I know, we’ll call it a KitchenAid Mixer Quilt instead.

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hope Valley Mixer Cover

  1. Lynn says:

    Hehehe. ALL MINE! I still love it!

  2. Robyn says:

    I LOVE this! Nicely done!

  3. Melissa says:

    I really love this cover. I was trying really hard not to buy this fabric line.. or any fabric for a while.. but after seeing this, I have to.

  4. Gladys MacMillan says:

    Hello, what a wonderful job of sewing the Kitchen-Aide Mixer cover.

    I Love it and I love the ideas.

    Take Care, Gladys

Leave a Reply

