Baby Quilt

Finished a baby quilt for my coworker’s new baby girl. I kept it simple and used one print in the front and one print in the back.

One side is Alexander Henry’s Monkey’s Bizness 2-D Zoo Primary (LOVE the bright and happy colors) and the other side is from Heather Bailey’s new Nicey Jane line (super cute…I love dots!)

I also included a little tab on the back using some grosgrain ribbon. I haven’t been told the baby girl’s new name (they’re still deciding), so I figured a little tag would be good to put her name on it at a later date. I also rounded the corners with a bowl before binding. I think it gives it a nice baby-quilt look.

I (unwillingly) bound the quilt in pre-made double fold bias tape. I had originally planned to buy some Kona cotton, or even some polka-dot print, but I didn’t realize I forgot to grab the fabric when I was in the cut line at JoAnn’s! Ugh, even Dickson knows how horrendous the cut line at JoAnn’s can be. At least it gave me a chance to practice machine binding, and I didn’t have to bring my iron out to actually make bias tape.

I folded the quilt in quarters and then rolled it up into a little bundle. I wrapped the whole thing in a strip of paper with a small note printed in the front (see the first photo). Oddly enough, this was inspired by my new Yogitoes Skidless mat. I think I’m going to do this with all my baby quilt gifts from now on!




This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

